--amphetamines and jellybeans--
10:54 pm & May. 24, 2003

The downfall of English class: class discussions.

We've been talking a lot lately about solipsism. The problem with talking about something so vastly different from conforming beliefs is that given to the wrong person, like me, my reality could become permanently warped. Example: Father says something like "You left a puddle in the bathroom! You're a filthy pig!" All I have to do is tell myself to the point of belief that he never said it and it becomes a truth. I can fully convince myself into believing that my own father never said it nor was the puddle of water ever there.

The problem with solipsism is that my perception is my reality and I've fully capable of transforming my reality by choosing what I wish to see or not. I become a minority of one with my belief. Other people may interpret my action(s) one way, but if I choose to see myself a particular way, it becomes a truth even though the majority see it as a lie.

Imagine this close-minded power used in a classroom.

previous & next