--i wish the world was flat like the old days then i could travel just by folding a map--
10:47 pm & Jan. 29, 2007

I had a mini-adventure today with my friend, Kristyne. Travis and I had carpooled together to school today, when I realized that I had forgotten all my materials and homework for art class at my house. Well, he gives me the keys to his car since my car was at my house as well. Of course, his car is manual and I've driven his car a total of three separate occassions. This was just a formula for some kind of disaster.

When I had my two hour break, I grabbed Kristyne and we were on our way back to my house. To make a long and very loud story short, we made it back before our class (with a half hour to spare for eating lunch) and without an accident. I stalled a total of five times (Kristyne kept count), three of which were in front of my own house. Everytime I got a green light when nearing an intersection, Kristyne and I would cheer loudly.

My favorite moment was when I stopped at a stop sign on a hill. A car had pulled way too close to my bumper and I predictably drifted back enough to cause alarm. I quickly stopped, turned around in my seat and yelled, "Get out of my way or get smashed!" Then I tried again and succeeded with a burn out. It was giggle worthy.

I'm not fantastic in any way at driving stick, but I can do it and that is enough to make me stupidly happy. I appreciated Travis's faith and trust so much, I filled his enormous 20-gallon, $40.00 gas tank completely. It was the least I could do after pulling the stunt I did today. (May I remind you that I am literally poorer than dirt at the moment. No pay check for the last four weeks. I'm dying here!)

Anyway, I definitely thought this day should go down in Christine history as it was certainly memorable.

previous & next