--don't you see, baby, this is perfection--
8:23 am & Apr. 30, 2007

Got to climb outside yesterday up at Haycock Mt. I made a comment about it feeling like a family picture and everyone chuckled over that. But in all seriousness, when most of the climbing crew is out there, there's great weather, and at least two people have pie, it's a family picnic.

As for my climbing, meh, not terrible consider I had two or three weeks of non-climbing. I don't like taking breaks really cos my hands get pussified so quickly. After a while, it's fatiguing just to lay them on the first hold. It was also mostly slab (I think?) up there and I think Travis baptized me into a sloper climber when we went to HP40 back in January. I like the patting around, shifting the weight, and BAM! it's suddenly stellar. It's kind of fun just slapping the rock and wildly hoping it's gonna be right, rather than pinching into tiny cracks and teetering on one toe.

ANYWAY, I forgot that one of my classes rescheduled our final for this Thursday in the morning and Travis and I made plans to go up the Gunks this week. Oops. I'm gonna try and see if I can make it up before we leave cos I wanna go climbing! Plus, it'll be my first time up the Gunks and I want to know what all the hype is about.

That's it for now.

previous & next