--walk on by the place where we would kiss--
10:32 pm & Jul. 08, 2007

Today was a day of summer awesomeness. Trav and I went up to Haycock Mt to go climbing with a few friends. It was a diverse group of experience: Eben, Noah, Josh, me, Trav, Monica (she's actually an ex of Travis... oooooooooooooooooh), and three other people I haven't really climbed with before.

I seriously though it'd be like any other time - I'd enjoy myself, show some improvement, but still be at the bottom of the strong climbers. BUT I WASN'T!! I couldn't believe it! I'm actually considered to be a strong climber now! And this is without being able to climb that much.

Turns out, I've had excellent training on the technical shit because I was climbing more gracefully and efficiently than Monica and SHE'S been climbing far longer and harder (she's gotten a freakin' 5.12). It was my first time climbing with her and I thought she'd totally kick my ass cos she's in waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay better physical condition than I am. In the end, we were running neck-to-neck with each other with her higher strength overall and me more technique. I couldn't believe at the amount of shit I was sending, varying from V0's to V2's.

Whooooooooooooooooo! I AM A CLIMBER!!!

Oh and after hours of being nasty and sweaty, we got to have a quick swim in the nearby river before heading home. The cold was actually warm and without horribly strong currents.

Fantastic day.

previous & next