--because we were once cinema gods in the night--
8:04 pm & Jan. 16, 2007

Miss me? I kind of missed sitting in one place longer than five seconds after a while... but not really.

Anyway, I volunteered down in New Orleans to help the Katrina victims. Turns out that it still looks like a bomb went off in the neighborhoods. Big surprise? Perhaps not when you realize that between bureaucratic red tape and thinly spread volunteer service is what is driving all recovery efforts. My personal opinion of it all was complete frustration. My team kept sitting around waiting for assignments or tools or water or buses... basically a lot of downtime. If I learned anything out of the experience was an understanding of the frustration and resentment the citizens of New Orleans have with the local and federal government.

I was supposed to start school today, but my dearest father decided to make my car's inspection today smack in the middle of my classes. This is after he had two fucking weeks to get it in while the car sat idle as I traveled my little pants off. Retard.

It feels like it did back in August; I finally got relaxed enough to really enjoy my break and then I have to return to school. As much as I love learning, there are times I love not being on that campus. Now is one of them.

In other news, Travis and I are doing splendidly. The guy never ceases to surprise me with his attentivenss. We were in the book store and I was browsing through the literature section. I picked up Heart of Darkness (a book I read my senior year in high school) and mentioned how he might really enjoy it. I figured he would nod and smile and that would be the end of it. This is a guy who only reads technical manuals for his cars or textbooks for class, so when he picked it up and didn't set it back down... I was impressed. I got him to read!! After that, he says he'll read The Joy Luck Club at my bequest.

Awesome.

previous & next