--don't expect too much from my poor old heart--
6:25 pm & Jan. 18, 2007

So here is something a little nutty: I'm taking a German phonetics class this semester and I already feel like Eliza from My Fair Lady before she gets to sing "The Rain in Spain." I can hear it, but I can't seem to match it. I try all sorts of quirky things with my tongue, lips, and teeth and it just makes it worse. This probably explains my mediocre singing ability.

Returning from the Katrina Recovery trip, the students were told to send our school's President a thank-you email, which I did. He liked it so much that he passed it onto the Board of Trustees. Flattering, no? Anyway, the only reason I knew this was because our chaplain, who had accompanied us down to Louisiana, stumbled across me today and told me. Yeah, ego got a little big there, I must admit.

The only wrench in the works is the lack of money. There is all sorts of confusion thanks to a change in command over at Bass Pro and I'm not scheduled to work until the 28th. Yeah, who is poorer than shit right now? Me, that's who. And it hurts. Badly.

I had thought I had worked it all out before I left for my two weeks out, but it's never that easy for me. Now I'm getting pratically four weeks off, unpaid, and I'm still spending money on things like gas and books. Fuck me in the ass, why don't you?

It is going to be a very hard month.

previous & next