--i need you to pretend that we are in love again--
10:06 pm & Feb. 12, 2007

Yesterday was Travis's birthday and I had planned a surprise party for him. Granted the boy isn't an idiot and I am incapable of keeping a surprise to myself (I was excited for him), so he knew something was up. Luckily he wasn't certain what to expect exactly.

His mother, grandmother, and I made Vietnamese dishes and I had invited his friends to come up to visit him. It turned out to be a lot of fun as everyone was really laid back and the food turned out to be an incredible success. Everyone left in a timely fashion, everything was cleaned up fairly quickly, and then we vegged out on the couch. The only downside is that Travis realizes now that I can cook and he's never going to let me live that down.

I told his mother that all I wanted was him to smile for three hours straight and forget every obligation. And it happened just like that!! I definitely outdid myself this time around.

I think this scared Travis a bit because he hadn't done anything remotely close to this for my birthday. I let it slide for a number of reasons, one being that I knew exactly how I wanted to spend my 21st birthday and another being I understand he rarely makes a big deal out of birthdays in general. He relaxed after hearing this; I certainly hope he didn't feel guilty about this because it was intended for the sole purpose of making him happy.

Anyway, because of this event, I'm completely drained of ideas for Valentine's Day as well as funding. Besides it is supposed to snow hard for Wednesday; my fingers are crossed for being snowed in at his place.

previous & next