--if you really loved me, she said, I wouldn't have to be so mean--
12:24 am & Oct. 21, 2004

I feel wholly under the maturity level for a college student. I guess I shouldn't be so concerned about what others are saying or where they are in their lives; but it irks me that when they talk, I just sit there with a reserved smile, thinking, "What are you talking about?!"

Like a lot of people are concerned about their relationships and almost everyone talks about marriage. This guy Matt... he talks about his girlfriend who lives in Philly and is my age, but he's damned positive that they'll be married shortly. This is along with at least 10 other people I know ((but I will spare the names)).

Let's be realistic, I love Dwight and, yeah, that would be awesome to grow up and have a million kids together, but it's not exactly number 1 on my to-do list. Not even close.

I guess that is because I'm super anal and I need things done in what I see as the correct order... or I won't bother doing it at all.

Also, I don't get college students who live on their own as a full-time student. This adds a ridiculous amount of pressure to them because of bills, job, homework, etc etc etc. It sounds kind of exciting (all that independence!), but I fear the idea of real expenses at my present age. I have this awful image of failing school and being stuck as a Subway employee the rest of my life. It's the fact I realize that I'm barely hanging on now that alarms me.

Right now, I honestly have no other friends than Dwight. Not people I hang out with or have any desire to hang out with. I don't mean to isolate myself, but after all the schoolwork, work, clubs, driving, and boyfriend... I just don't have much of a need to socialize. Just being at school is all the socialization I can handle.

I'm really sure what the point of this entry was... if you happen to figure it out, feel free to tell me.

previous & next