--[insert a proper title]--
11:27 am & Nov. 16, 2003

Some arguments die hard. I have the same ones every year at the same time. First, it's Marching Band and how useless it is. Second, it's the fall play and how it is a such a waste of time. Third, they can't understand why I want to work when I should concentrate only on school work. Fourth, the musical is hurting their schedules and that I need to quit. Apparently, everything that I love to do is pointless and I should give it all up.

They can't understand that I'm 17 years old and that this is my last year. Once I graduate, when will I ever get a chance to have all this time to do things that I enjoy? I won't have the time. But they can't understand this. For my parents, the world is black and white - school, money, bills, houses, cars, their television sets, their hot tubs, their lives are the most important to them.

They don't want to take care of me; they don't want me to be their responsibility. I've known this for so long, but what I can't understand is why they won't help me to leave? They helped my brother get a car. They let him work and drive earlier. Why won't they help me??? I never bother them unless I absolutely need to. Mostly, I try not to ask anything, especially money-wise. But they wouldn't let me work until this year and I don't have enough money for a car. How is it that other kids' parents help them and mine refuse to help me?

previous & next