--and there's no mountain too high--
4:11 pm & Dec. 17, 2003

So... I'm officially college-bound and it started to actually sink in today after the chorus trip to Strawberry Square. Dane and I sat on the bus -- good lord, do I love the boy -- and after he finished seranading me ((he knows I love his voice)), we started to talk college-wise. He brought up a concern of mine that hasn't truly shown its ugly head until today. I'm moving away ((only 30 minutes)), so Dwight and I will be separated for most of the time next year. Dane's latest romantic interest attends Dickinson and he said that because of the physical separation they aren't truly romantically involved. This bothers me greatly.

I'm crazy about Dwight... he's just an amazing guy. For example, I told him if he ever felt isolated from his friends, he just needed to tell me to back off. His reply? "Christine... you are my friend." This is a valid point, considering we've been friends for years before we were dating. But, because of my anxiety, I couldn't rationalize this out myself and needed some kind of reassurance. I guess that's why I don't feel like mentioning it to him. Because I want to be able to tell myself that Dane is different from Dwight and that although Dane can't handle distance, Dwight and I might be able to.

There are such little things that happen between us that makes "us" great. Our first date, I came out of the restroom and he was standing outside waiting for me. When he saw me, his entire face just lit up and a huge, goofy grin materialized. It seems like anytime I enter the room, the same smile appears and everyone else just disappears. I love how he notices things I do. When I say or do something, he notices and that means the world to me. We have constant running jokes that never tire. We have little contests with each other ((which usually I win, because he knows I like to)).

Sure, this sounds terribly sappy... but I've got what I only could read about in books and poetry. Hopefully, you can understand why I'm so taken by him. Because I got it good.

He has a kiss that makes you go, "Wow..."

previous & next