--your drug is a heartbreaker--
9:51 pm & Dec. 04, 2003

Why is it that when you're in a relationship, you start to be feel obligated to talk all the time? Don't take that question as a doubt of my affection for Dwight, but I want to know why I seem to lose all ability to hold a conversation when we drive in his car. We spent a good hour and a half on the phone the other night and talked solidly -- but I still ponder as to why I lose my ability to talk. It feels like no matter how much I want to say something, my mind tightens the locks around the chest that contains all my thoughts and I can't think of anything at all. That... or I don't talk coherently whatsoever ((a common occurance these days)).

Petey and I had our conceited moments today. In Drama, we manage to be the snottiest people ever to walk into that room, but our conversation was very humble. We talked about George (("Lopez" in the play)) and Dougie (("Ho-Jon")) and we both agreed that those two had to be the coolest, nicest people we almost never met. Unlike most people, Petey and I don't fool ourselves into being we never judge anybody. That's a lie. Anytime you meet someone new, you make some kind of judgement, which either intrigues or repulses you. Of course, we try to never let these prejudices stand in the way, but we acknowledge the fact that opinions are made.

LATER:
Well, mom just went on a ranting fest with me. When things like that happen, I can feel myself just slip into my personal, inner world that enables me to ignore everyone else completely. I don't want to deal with her problems and prejudices and misconceptions of the world. I don't even want to hear them. As far as I am concerned, they don't exist.

Of course, everything I just said was an utter lie. I know her problems and I do have to deal with them. When she's pissed, who else is going to take her crap?

previous & next