--turn my traffic sign to a brighter yellow--
12:44 pm & Dec. 04, 2005

It is simply so good to be done with the majority of my work. I just emailed my last report into my art history professor this morning and I'm pretty happy about that. This is my last Sunday morning in the beautiful city of Koeln. I will be in Berlin for most of next Sunday and after that... home!

I shouldn't be so excited about going home, but I am. I've learned that "home" is not a location or a building, but it is where you are surrounded in love and support. Sounds so cheesy - it is - but you can't really understand it unless you leave and have minimal to no contact with those you love.

My mother is amazing. She did all this and more. She moved to another country without any preparation (that happens when you're kidnapped) and managed to make a new home with a new family. And you know what? She not only provides for me and my siblings, but she continues to help out her family back in Vietnam. My mother, the most loving person in the whole world.

I miss her so much.

Sure, when I graduate college and start my life as a nomad, I will travel; however, it will be on my own terms. I will have constant internet access and money to keep in touch and make visits to my family when I miss them. Here, in Germany, I am stuck in a big, fucking, German bubble and I want out. I want Katie, who needs me as much as I need her. I want my family, so I have people to paradoxically harass and love at one time. I want my friends, so I can shower them with all the love they have shown me even when I was away.

Fuck this 'I'm a young adult' horseshit. I am still a girl, no matter how responsible or ambitious I sound. I am young and stupid enough to want to waste my free time doing absolutely nothing productive with my friends. I've checked a lot of things off on my list of "Things To Do Before I Die" (however, I can only disclose those details to Katie... envy her) - but I'm ready to take a break from living on the edge and get back to being a lazy, little girl.

previous & next