--you wanted a hero tonight--
8:36p.m. & 2002-12-23

Until my birthday: 6 days

For the past three days, I've spent it being at home ((at the suggestion of a friend of mine)). Granted, it was nice doing nothing, but I can't stay that way very long.

Oh wait, I lied. Saturday night was spent at a party with my mother's Vietnamese friends. Oh man, you sit there eating, not understanding the language, but you know they're talking about you cuz your name isn't Vietnamese. Past resentment: Loan ((mother's friend)) had called me fat once just because I've got wider hips than the rest of those unbelieveably skinny Vietnamese women. I will let go of it one of these days eventually.

My father is not the subtlest about Christmas shopping. The man never goes anywhere unless he has a reason and he's sporadically left the house in the past 3 days. He called quite a few times asking what my brother and sister would want; however, he called once or twice and asked for someone other than myself ((I'm the Voice Who Answers All Phone Calls in this house)).

Christmas is supposed to be a joyous season. A time when you can sit back and be gracious to the ones you love. However, this always has a side-effect for me. I always end up feeling unworthy for the gifts given and that some of the presents were gifts of obligation. All I want to do is sit down in my living room with people I love and just watch some commercialized Christmas movie in a comfortable silence. Unfortunately, the scene usually turns out to be a more realistic battle of cynicism and uncomfortable silence. My father always has criticism for movies, my mother and I disagree on more than we should, and my siblings can be depended on to instigate some rival.

:: big sigh ::

previous & next