--greeting cards have all been sent, the Christmas rush is through...--
10:21 p.m. & 2002-12-24

Tonight was spent over at a friends-of-the-family party that is held every year. And every year, it gets harder and harder to attend. This family has their act together. Loving in every sense of the word. What a glass dagger, right?

Well, there was some relief. My first white Christmas since I can remember. Snow slowly drifting down to the ground in a misty haze. I spent a good amount of my time at the party, outside. It's pleasant to walk in something as solitude as snow when you're feeling disgruntled. You don't have to cry, because the sky is weeping for you as its tears crystalize into snowflakes in hopes that some beauty can be made out of its sorrow. The house was on a hill, so I could look out and see the other houses forming a giant christmas valley of multi-colored lights and car tinsel. For one brief moment, the land held its breath and made a wish that goodwill can gain one more victory against ill will. I watched.

Merry Christmas

previous & next