--fred jones is a friend--
10:44 pm & Feb. 26, 2004

So much drama. The truth is, I've found an ounce of happiness in my life and I don't want drama. To me, there is a difference between "drama" and "problems." The problems Lauren is having right now are real, tangible dilemmas that cause suffering and I wish I could do something to change it. But I can't.

"Drama" is the search for trouble. The deliberate quest to find something wrong with the present situation. Sometimes, the reason is for making oneself feel superior to others. Sometimes, the reason is to make harmless tension for some excitement. Either way, I could do without it.

I do not feel like getting involved with others' problems. I still have a raging sense of responsibility for my friends... but, in the end, I make very little impact. That kind of helplessness is disillusioning, but, it frees me too. I need to let it go and accept certain things... but, oh god, I don't want to. I want to fight it and fix it... but I can't.

previous & next