--I could be your long-lost pal--
7:47 pm & Aug. 08, 2003

:: gasps for air :: And FINALLY, band camp is over! Sadly, though, we only have less than 54% of the show down in drill and music. We can only do about 45 measures of my first song. I had no idea what kind of pressure I would be under when I decided to be a drum major. The need to meet everyone's expectations and ideals of the "perfect" drum major is a constant worry on my mind. I need to be good! And I had less than 2 days this week to work on my music with the band!! That's TERRIBLE!

I cried after this evening's performance. I never cry in public -- but I had to. I felt like I had failed everyone and myself. My parents were not impressed in the least of what I little I could show at the exhibition tonight. Click a tempo and conduct 40 measures -- whereas, Holly had her two songs completely done for drill and the band knew what to expect from her. It's not going to be easy to learn the last half of my song and then the closer. :: sigh ::

previous & next