--the smell of cut grass and sweat--
5:39 pm & Mar. 03, 2004

I had a fantastic day yesterday. Because I am greedy and love to hold my most cherished moments for myself alone, I will not go into detail about it. But, truthfully, nothing is better than pleasant weather and playgrounds with someone you love.

Other than that, I saw The Passion and I must admit my disappointment. Maybe I'm just overly critical, but there are aspects that took away from the symbolism and meaning behind the film. They used a few computer-generated special effects that gave a sense of falsehood [to me] and, suddenly, it was very unreal to me. Also, the appearance of Satan was a bit of a cheap trick. Not to ruin the movie for those who have not seen it yet, but Satan makes a few appearances and I thought it tacky.

On a good note, I, being the Latin nerd I am, was very happy in hearing Latin spoken. I was so happy being able to understand it without reading the captions (for the most part). Dwight laughed at my excitement and had to remind me that other people were not so thrilled. He also continued to harass me and call me a "nerd." I started to tell him translations, but I just remembered that he took one year of Latin. Now I feel pretty stupid.

I must admit though that I did get teary-eyed over some moments. Anything between Mary and Jesus just made me feel so much sorrow. I guess it is because I can relate more to a mother-son relationship than the whole spiritual Jesus-Savior situation. A loving mother in pain just rips my heart out.

On another good note, I definitely am getting 100s in Calc now, after bombing a test. There is hope for my future in the math world. Other than that, I'm enjoying life very much right now.

As Dwight said, "Philosophy on the merry-go-round."

previous & next