--ready boots? start walking--
10:02 pm & Jan. 29, 2004

Well, I guess anyone who had Lavelle's AP English today is going to talk to him. We're reading Dante's Inferno, which ultimately leads one to question the strength of conviction in our beliefs, whatever they may be. According to Lavelle, Dane and I are going straight to Hell and experiencing terrible (appropiate?) punishments for our blasphemous beliefs.

For all those of immense Christian faith, I warn you to not read further because I have a lot of ranting to be done.

Firstly, the whole punishment of "Virtuous Pagans and Unbaptized Children" pisses me off immensely. They don't even go to Purgatory where they can be redeemed (according to the belief). If that is so... EVERYONE good in heart born before Christ should be in that part. That includes Abraham, Adam, Eve, Noah, Soloman, King David, and all those who never even heard of Christianity. I say... FUCK THAT SHIT. That kind of close-minded belief disgusts me. Something so abominably unfair burns me to the core and I feel that no amount of vomiting could ever relieve me.

I'm not mad at Dante... to each his own. I'm just filled with frustration and disgust for those influenced by what he wrote and suddenly start worrying about their salvation. That's what Dante would call the "Opportunists" and still punishable for all eternity. So... HA! You're royally screwed anyway!

Lavelle also keeps hinting at possible debate about the punishment for the homosexuals. I'm already fired up about it because I have always had a firm belief in where homosexuals stood in my book. :: stretches her claws :: Beware Lavelle if you say anything derogatory. You will have one seriously bitchy and loud student.

I like the book because of the description of the punishments. I like gruesome. But I also like the huuuuge mix of Catholism and paganism in the book. Dante has enough there to capture the imagination of anyone with half a brain. But I despise some of the reactions I have seen other people have. Why should I start to worry about my soul just because I read one book? I have already strongly rejected any kind of forced belief.

For example, all the Roman Catholic hypocrisy I have had to deal with my parents as a child have turned me completely off from any kind of organized religion. I can't do it. I can't bear the idea of being forced to do good deeds. If I'm going to be "actively" good... I'll do it by my own free will. Working with the handicapped kids in school? I do that because I like helping and teaching others. Helping the school with the recycling program through Key Club? I do that because I felt it should be done. No Almighty God told me that I needed to do it. No church forced me to do such deeds. Fuck, if something is forcing you to do good, doesn't that take away from your deed? Shouldn't that lessen the sincerity of the deed? Because it does.

I can't wait for Dane to bring up reincarnation and karma tomorrow.

previous & next