--what's the consolation prize?--
9:45 p.m. & 2003-01-13

No one is home but my sister and I. Mother took my paternal Grandma to the bus station. Some distant geat-aunt Dorothy of mine has died... see, this is why I appear to be as naive as I do. Death does not visit me closely. He drops in once in a while for afternoon tea and politely drives away his deserved company. My Grandma's husband died back when I was probably only 4 and I remember parts of the funeral. He was lying in his coffin in his military uniform with red roses scattered everywhere. That night, I was sent to Loan's house to play with Vinh and sleep over. Obviously, I was rather clueless as to what event had occurred within my family.

I've had people close to me have their family members die and some people in my grade have died this year. Just no one dear to me. I talk to Death in a very polite, short chat... never long or personal conversations.

The AP World History book lies to my right. O, how innocent he pretends to be. He says: "Christineeee - reeeead me!! You know you n e e d to!" His temptations are overcoming my determinaton to dance with procrastination.... bah... I need to study for Mid-terms now.

previous & next