--taste the stardust in my mouth chase the clouds until they disappear--
9:12 am & May. 10, 2003

My mom keeps buying me SAT materials to raise my score. I have a respectable score, but she keeps expecting that I'm going to magically get a 1300 on the SAT. Look, I'm a good 100 below that and I've already taken one course on it and it raised me by only like 40 points, so it's doubtful that I'm going to get much higher. Yeah, I could do it if I studied day and night for it, but I won't do it.

This might sound awfully foolish and stubborn, but I can't do that. I have schoolwork, work, and extracurricular activties I take part in. My friend had a 1400-something, but his class rank stunk, his GPA was average, and he didn't do anything else other than work. The private college he wanted wouldn't take him. I have everything but a outstanding SAT score ((and money)). I have an okay score.

The funny part is that I always thought I was above-average intelligent. However, high school was a big "Ha! Get in your place and let the other geniuses go by." Sure, I still strive to do my best, but I still feel like I was cheated when anyone else gets a better score than me. I could blame it on my parents with instilling me with the idea that I was so smart. Some look at A's and say, "Yes! This is so awesome!" I look at A's and say, "This is what I deserve."

Everytime mom says, "I bought you-" I cringe.

previous & next