--your cheatin' heart will tell on you--
6:41 pm & Mar. 09, 2006

Done with the proposal and a day before it was due! Thank goodness... I hate spitting out things for professors. The research and reading part I really don't mind at all. Discussion is even better! However, I hate regurgitating information onto paper for whatever reason.

I have now discovered another layer of economics that sparks my interest: development economics. It is essentially devoted to the concept of pulling developing countries out of poverty. It requires more than theory and models. To really understand the problem with a poverty-stricken country, you must understand everything: culture, government, religion, geography, history, etc.

The only problem I could see me heading into that direction is that macroeconomics is simply just not my forte. I am only really beginning to understand it because, let's face it, it is a gigantic spider web of relationships and I can barely keep interest rates and money supply straight.

I shouldn't be so pessimistic though. I can actually visualize this as a career after graduate school and I have interest in this stuff so I'll do fairly well in it. Well, macroeconomics certainly takes on a more interesting spin at any rate.

In other news, I climbed a really big hill today with Holly, Alissa, Mike, and Josh today. I can't call it a "mountain" because technically Pennsylvania has no mountains (a mountain must be 5000 feet in elevation or something like that). Anyway, it was exceptionally fun and I enjoyed it immensely. We're already planning our next hike for summertime. Fantastic.

Productive day. Whoo!

previous & next