--I never realized "responsibility" and "maturity" were synonyms --
9:11 pm & Jan. 01, 2004

Happy New Year... unless you're Jewish... or Chinese... or Islamic. Anyway, I ended up spending my entire yesterday with Dwight and my brother and his friends. We played Halo and Asshole for most of the night. I have to give Dwight kudos at how fast he becomes comfortable with people. By the end of the night, Dwight was playing Halo with the guys, while Alicia slept and I watched tv by myself. I'm not complaining.

In spite of all that, last night had a dark, dark cloud that spoiled what should have been an awesome night. My brother got piss ass drunk, not a surprise, but we had planned to spend the night at Ron and Alicia's, thus preventing any stupidity [and parents' anger]. Well, it's 2 o'clock in the morning and Dave is plastered as all hell, but Dwight and I are trying to cuddle and fall asleep. My father calls and probably would have let me sleep over [like originally planned]... but my brother couldn't even talk coherently, which sent red alarms off in my father's head.

My brother pukes his brains out in the trash can and it stinks up the entire apartment. Then he starts saying crazy things like how he's going to drive home and I need to get in the car with him. Having stopped drinking hours ago ((well before midnight... low tolerance, I'll admit to it)), I'm sober and scared shitless. Thankfully, Dave has AWESOME friends and Ron wouldn't let Dave get behind the wheel. We had to keep him distracted until my father came to pick us up. Boy, was my father ever mad!!

Another lucky break for me is that Ron definitely covered my tracks with sparkling grape juice, so technically I didn't have any alcohol -- no punishment for me! My brother is going to catch hell whenever he comes home from work tonight... but he deserves it. He was a dumbass. He's 22 and he hasn't learned about moderation yet. I'm perfectly okay with the idea of being piss ass drunk once in a while, but if you want to drive later, find someone else but yourself to drive. Dave would have been lucky if he had been pulled over by cops last night. :: shakes head in disgust ::

What amazes me is that I managed to stick to my gut feeling and not get in Dave's car and not let him drive either. Believe me, my brother, drunk or not drunk, he could have easily kicked my ass and put me in the car if he really wanted to. This brings up another thing that I surprise myself with: sex. Believe me, I've had the opportunity to have had sex by now. I've been drunk enough, I've been horny enough... but I haven't had sex yet.

Aren't these like the big two things you're taught to say "no" to as a junior high kid? What went right with me? I'm a coward!! I'm scared shitless by spiders... I can't even kill one because I freeze up so badly. Yet, the big things I can handle?? Since when? Ahh, well... I guess I'm just lucky. Lucky in the same way that I don't have mono [and should because of Dwight], I never broke any bones or had any serious diseases... I just got lucky.

previous & next