--maybe he won't find out what i know--
10:07 pm & Aug. 29, 2006

Band camp was not too terrible. I've changed over to a cymbal girl and I love it. It's a lot easier to be lazy (seriously, how complicated can cymbal music be without sounding like noise?) and the drumline people are fantastically fun. We all get along very well, have great senses of humor, and saw Snakes on a Plane together. It doesn't get much better than that.

Classes started today and although none of today's classes were exceptionally difficult... I foresee a ton of schoolwork in my future. Languages tend to get tedious after a while and the two German classes are no exception. However, it is always nice to know that for once my constant talking habit is raising my grade as opposed to watching it plummet.

National Gov't is gonna be a piece. of. cake. It's my first 100 level class that is semi-related to my major since freshman year... so I am surrounded by kids. I feel bad for them because I have two full years' worth of experience of doing intense reading and research in all the aspects discussed in class... Basically I shot down their vague, idealistic attitudes within 20 minutes and wasn't even trying to. I have a hunch I will be doing a lot of biting my tongue in that class.

Anyway, it isn't all classwork. For once, I am actually bothering to stick around campus for a little fun. Today, I watched Animal House with Andy (aka "Sunshine") and Stevie Spots after band practice. Yesterday, I was hanging out with Matt B. (I'm gonna admit it now... I've had a mini-crush on him since freshman year but I know our personalities are so strong that we'd be a worse couple than Travis and me) which is always a fantastic time. And tomorrow Spots and I will hang out again. Sometime my dear Hartman will hang out with me... but that is whenever his schedule is free.

So this semester... not too shabby yet. Give me a week and I may not be singing the same tune.

previous & next