--she prolly cries herself to sleep--
6:58 am & Aug. 22, 2006

I think I have definitely grown out of marching band. Last night was the first rehersal and it was an ok-time. I could definitely still see me part of a symphonic band, as I still enjoy playing my piccolo in a large group setting. However... the guy who is the drum major is a pretty big dodo. When he can't keep everyone's attention, he moves his shoulders and hips in opposite directions and goes, "You guuuuuuuuuys." He might be musically intelligent, but he's got no presence in front of a crowd.

Other than that, I have absolutely no desire to head out today to sit in the sun for 12 hours. We get only two one-hour breaks for lunch and dinner and the rest is learning music or marching. Ugggghhh, why am I doing this???

It's not all bad, the two flutes I was sitting between were fun. At least, they appreciated my constant stream of sarcastic comments about the drum major and laughed. I love having an audience. And, of course, there is my dear Dave the Music Guru. He certainly was missed this summer.

And so... the school year begins.

previous & next