--let me give you some insight into my insides--
3:34 pm & Aug. 19, 2006

For a sport I'm less than a year into, rock climbing is quickly finding its way into surrounding my daily routine. I'm probably going to get hired at Bass Pro to work on the rock climbing wall (get paid a heck of a lot more than Sears pays me) and yesterday when I went to the Climbnasium, the guy running the desk asked me to help out with birthday parties. By the way, this guy is named Travis as well so should he ever be mentioned again, it will be as Travis the Second.

It's nuts how much I really enjoy it and I'm such a beginner! I'm fairly certain it's partially because of the people, most of who are nice and outgoing and really laid back. I know my technical skill is improving but I just wish I had enough time to climb more often. I'd be super good then...

Last night was Dan's party-thing up at his grandparents' cabin. Katie, Randi, and I left at 11pm because we didn't feel like staying the night. Katie begins telling us stories of serial killers on the Appalachian Trail and how a hitchiker was going to flag us down and kill us. Well guess what we saw.... a goddamned hitchiker!!! In the middle of a mountain!! We didn't even see a car! But honestly there were houses he could have walked to and phoned somebody so that doesn't make much sense. Anyway, Randi and I were the first ones to spot him and we started SCREAM at the top of our lungs (I sped up).

Just as we're starting to feel ok, I was going through an intersection and a car drove through a stop sign at blazing speeds and almost totally took my car out. Randi said it best when she described that it was like coming out of a haunted house ride. It was the most terrifying drive I've ever experienced.

previous & next