--it's funny how stretched you can feel--
1:06 pm & Jul. 31, 2003

I can name the SAT's at the top of my list of things that I loathe. My mother bought me this computer software for "honing my skills for the SAT's" and I decided to spend an hour or so on it. I gave up after 30 minutes. I can't take that anymore. I hate studying for things as useless as the SAT's. Seriously now, I can get into plenty of colleges with my score as of now and get a great education. Of course, I won't have the benefit of a fully paid tuition ((which is the only reason my mother is pushing so hard with the scores)), but others have survived it and so can I.

I feel as if I fill my head with the most useless of information ((which it really is)). So I'm not some brainiac genius and never will be, but why waste my time and energy on something that I can't really remedy? Believe me, if I knew I had the ability to be getting 1400's and had all the time in the world to reach that potential, then I'd do it. But I have other stuff to concentrate on. Marching band, college applications, summer reading project, my job, etc.

I feel like a fraud. I'm glamoured up to be a successful student and drum major; yet, on the inside, I'm wondering how am I going to pull off this hoax and not hurt everyone while I do it? It's one thing being the student and being attentive, but when you're the teacher and everyone's eyes are on you... the pressure is on and I wonder if I can really handle it. Unlike a musical or play performance... this role is lasting a lot longer than a weekend. Try a season.

I never knew I could fake a smile so well.

previous & next