--and there has always been heartache and pain and when it's over you'll breathe again--
9:49 am & Jul. 24, 2003

I got back from the FJM leadership camp last night. I had gone the year before, so I had the ability to have a comparison of before and now. I had a lot more fun last year, mainly because I didn't take the whole thing too seriously. Now a drum major, I really had to try to absorb all the information they threw at me. My arms were so sore after the first day of conducting. However, I can conduct at least 14 minutes straight without a problem now.

My biggest burden was trying to stay positive throughout the camp. I know I'm not the respected drum major... Holly is. Everyone knows she is the smarter one and she has everyone's respect. I, on the other hand, am just able to make people laugh and I don't think they take me seriously when I want their attention. I was the constant butt of their jokes during the camp. I took it all with a smile and laughed it off, but it disturbs me that they might do that during our school's marching band camp. This thought haunted me the entire time.

However, it really was a good time. I won like 3 ribbons for marching and motivation. Katie, the colorguard section leader, got a trophy for her technical skill. Our school got the teamwork trophy ((which is sitting on my dining room table)) for the 4th year in a row. I'm really proud of everyone who went this year.

My Long-Term Goal: Be part of the FJM staff.

previous & next