--for what is a man, what has he got? if not himself, then he has not--
10:30 am & Jul. 16, 2003

Last night was the first marching band rehearsal since the last day of school. It was a night that began with a lot of suspicion and tears. There had been a rumor circulating for the past two weeks that Mr. Miller was leaving us for Hershey High School. When I first heard it, I completely ignored it. I heard it coming from kids, so why should I believe it? Mr. Miller would not pull some random scheme out of his ass like that!

But it was true. He is leaving. And that is not the scary part that he is leaving. The scary part is that he had to have applied to it, he had to think, "Oh, I'm going to leave these kids." The scarier part is that someone might come in and change everything that made the music program so valuable. The scariest part is that Holly and I are the drum majors and we have just been given a lot more responsibility than we anticipated. We really have to be the examples for why marching band is worth remaining loyal to. Miller's face is completely separate from the marching band now. It is not his band. It is ours now.

It hurts. The idea that other kids are taking Miller away from us. Makes me wonder if they're in as much pain as our band is.

previous & next