--i have been saving smiles for you--
3:00 pm & Jan. 17, 2004

So last night, I hung out with Steve and it was pretty fun. He has these awesome baby turtles in his bedroom, along with half of the reptile kingdom. In spite of its terrible distance, Dauphin has its good point -- the stars. Last night, I have never seen the stars so brilliant and unscarred. Streetlights tend to outsine the stars in my neighborhood.

Dwight and I faced our first taste of reality last night. His mother was being insensitive and made him incredibly upset. That tore my heart out to hear him so bothered by it. I have known Dwight for pratically five years and never once have I heard him so disturbed. It was by accident that I discovered him upset. R.E.M. was playing on Sesame Street and I had to call him to tell him to watch it. Imagine if it hadn't come on! I would never have thought of calling him and [chances are] he would never have called me, thinking I was already chilling with Steve.

Of course, now, I'm going to be wary of his mother. I couldn't believe she had been so tactless and hurtful towards her own son. That bothers me so much. I feel really defensive about him and what she had said to him was completely uncalled for. It didn't help that he had had an accident earlier. Only the trunk of his car was damaged, but the lack of a car doesn't help the matters.

Well, on a good note, I hung out with Lauren for the first time since summer. She is so cool. I miss her a lot and I'm glad she called me today. She seriously is my one best friend in the entire world. I can tell her anything without anxiety of her blabbing her mouth or judging me. She also is one of the bravest people I know. There's so much to her story and I could never compare to the hardships she has survived.

I have lucky for all the people I have met so far in my life. Lauren, Dwight, Steve, Dane, Jawhara, Cassie... all of them are so amazing and have affected my life in such subtle [or not-so-subtle] ways.

When did I get so lucky?

previous & next