--god damn the black night with all its foul temptations--
12:25 am & Jan. 11, 2006

I spent a good portion of my day at LVC. I got to Maynard and we had a great time just chatting and catching up and looking forward to the semester. Honestly, I could talk to him about anything; it's just so great to have a mentor in my life. When Miller left us my senior year, I felt the floor ripped from underneath my feet and I though, "This is it." Lo and behold, Maynard steps into my life and I have guidance once again. It's like a safety blanket when you're feeling lost and directionless.

So I've been doing pointless things with my free time, like looking into possible graduate programs, which just depresses me because the really prestigious ones are incredibly demanding. Getting my foot in the door will be a trial itself... keeping it there is an entirely different subject. I guess the good part is that I still have a lot of time to work so I shouldn't be completely disillusioned just yet.

Otherwise, still no job and school starts a week from now. I simply refuse to do food service. No more. I have funds to last me a while, so I can be pompous and hold out for a while yet.

previous & next