--you're a few years overdue, i spent them here waiting for you--
9:45 pm & Feb. 09, 2006

Today started to be a fan-freaking-tastic day when I discovered a Get Up Kids cd stuck in a different cd case. I had thought that I had lost it long ago and wanted badly to listen to it but I've had no money to splurge on cds. I had given up all hope in ever finding it. Well... I found it and it made me incredibly happy. I was so excited I called Katie to share my wonderful news and I told her that the rest of the day could be mediocre and I'd still think it was the best day of my life.

Well, turns out I wasn't too terribly far from the truth!

I had international econ where Maynard thought he was gonna be tricky and spontaneously called me to demonstrate how tariffs work to the class without any kind of preparation. Well, tariffs are one of the few things I actually understand completely in that class and I proved my mettle there.

Then, after a nice TKD class where I realized my old skill is definitely returning, I came home to find.... :: suspenseful pause :: a letter from JAY!! I was so surprised that I nearly pooped myself!!

I had written him a while ago, but there is this part of me that thought he might not write because he has so many friends that I'd just be a face in the crowd. Huzzah, huzzah! He wrote to me and my heart went pitter-patter in joy. Quite honestly, we didn't get much of a chance to really know each other before he left for the Navy, so I was pretty worried about making an ass out of myself.

Good thing I trusted my instincts on this. I remember when I was in Germany, I was euphoric getting letters and Lauren was the same way when she left for the Navy, so... yeah... Jay proved to be no different! He's almost halfway through his basic training. I hope he gets some leave time afterwards, but Lauren got sent to school right away and I suspect Jay will be the same situation. Oh well. He wrote to me!

previous & next