--now don't go thinking you're special just because you are--
7:05 pm & Sept. 25, 2003

Lavelle is my English teacher this year and he's very... passionate [I guess is the word I'm looking for] about what he teaches. It's not that he is flamboyantly expressive about what he lectures, but he has a conviction and admiration for the language like no one else. For a man who is well over 6 feet and built like a boxer, he is surprisingly low-key, like a panther sprawled out in sunlight. But like a panther, I think he's prepared to bare his claws when irritated.

I'm digressing. Today's topic was of Gilgamesh and Lavelle is telling us of all the great themes within the book, then he throws out that great quote, "It is better to have loved and lost, then never to have loved at all." It was weird because Dane and I had a discussion about it the night before. It's rather ironic because it was not the first time that we had discussions that reflected what Lavelle would say the next day.

In other news, I have monologue to memorize, a Calc test to study for, and a Latin quiz to fudge through. Notice my priorities... possibly a bit out of order, but, heh, I might as well as screw up now before college.

I'm gonna buy the store that I'd been planning to rob.

previous & next