--I could write the best book on underage tragedy--
1:59 pm & Aug. 29, 2003

Wow... I must be a really decrepit person to have acted the way I acted last night. I had been invited to go mini golfing and after playing a round, some of my friends decided to get ice cream. Not hungry, I chilled in the arcade for a while. Realizing they weren't going to rejoin me in the arcade, I went and sat at the table with them in the ice cream parlor. At the table was a plastic dinosaur, fake money, and an Airhead. Thinking someone had abandoned their prizes, I laughed and claimed them for myself. Five minutes later, a little kid comes up to me and says the dinosaur is his, which I give back to him. As I reached for my purse to get the other toys, his mother ((a mammoth of a woman, by the way)) comes up and starts making a scene. I was scared shitless and began to lie about having the toys. She gave up quickly and stormed away with her son.

I laughed and grinned broadly while I had lied to her, but not because I found it funny, but because I laugh when I'm put on the spot. I laugh when I'm hurt or depressed or nervous or excited. I laugh because I can't deal with stress any other way. The boy's mother really did frighten me badly. I wish she hadn't come up to me; I would have given the toys back and all would have been okay. But I panicked and began to lie!! I was so ashamed and humiliated. I left the rest on the table when we left ice cream parlor.

This is bugging me like crazy because I'm not a bad person. I never thought I'd be so dishonest in my life. I probably made the kid cry ((although, knowing how mothers act, she probably bought him something much better than fake money and an Airhead)). I feel as if there's no way to reconcile for my dishonesty. How could I, who prides herself on being bluntly honest, be so... vile?

This week is never going to end!

previous & next