--just know I wouldn't hate you if you tried--
7:36 p.m. & 2003-01-05

It's snowing... again! This is the most snow I've seen fall on Harrisburg since back in 4th grade when I had an entire week off of school. I enjoy seeing it float down and mourn when it melts away.

I went to the library today and took out "Babylon Revisited" by F. Scott Fitzgerald among several other novels. I love his writing style, so very elegant... Anyway, I came across a paragraph that struck me as intriguing:

"--Love is fragile--she was thinking--but perhaps the pieces are saved, the things that hovered on lips, that might have been said. The new love words, the tendernesses learned, are treasured up for the next lover."

The character, Edith, has been falling back in love with memories of an old lover, Gordon. When she encountered Gordon as he was now, she became bored with his poverty and despair. She thought she had loved him; however, she could not love what he had become.

I think this applies to me, especially on today. A year ago, I was over at my romantic interest's house and I was overjoyed. We had so much fun playing video games and watching movies. As all high school dramas go, he ended up being the biggest @*^#$# in the world... but I had been willing to forgive him... he didn't want to be forgiven... and as the story goes, I stopped talking to him. I blocked his screenname, tore up his number, refused to go to places where he would be. I think it's so ironic that I came upon this passage on today! I almost had completely forgotten it.

I try not to let myself become too mushy because that always leads to heartaches. Let me indulge in this for today.

previous & next