--I didn't notice what time it was--
12:53 am & Oct. 23, 2003

I love my mother, I really do. Earlier, I went to bed really, really early ((7:30 or something close to it)) and fell asleep immediately. My mom wakes me up and brings me medicine and a drink of water. Then, a few sleep-filled hours later, she comes in again and brings me more medicine and water. I don't know why I find this so wondrous, but I do. I'm so lucky to have a mother who bothers to watch my temperature and make sure I drink plenty of fluids.

It's moments like this that I wish I could be a better person and child. Within the last week, I've recieved rather unflattering grades in my classes; grades I'm going to forever hide from her. Within the last few days, I've made my best friend cry. I've done things that would make my mother cringe and, because she doesn't really keep tabs on my life, she has this untarnished image of her child who is ill.

Today, at lunch, we were talking about Cassie and I explained how I can't completely blame Cassie for having such an ego-trip sometimes -- her mother quite literally puts her on a pedestal. I know any mother that thinks her child is the best child in the world, but I think her mother tends to cross that line. If her child isn't having some huge role in an activity, she and her child will blow it off entirely. Whereas, my mother taught me if I have any sort of obligation, I have to follow through with it.

Maybe that's the division between Cassie and me. We're both very much like our mothers, but our mothers are very different. Don't get me wrong, our mothers have a lot in common. They both have love for musicals, Judy Garland, and their children.

My medicine is kicking in, finally. Good night.

previous & next