--beauty queen of only 18--
4:25 pm & Dec. 27, 2003

I had almost forgotten how much of an antisocial I can be. Look, don't get me wrong -- I love parties. I just don't like the parties where I know people are outwardly judging me. My mom is throwing a party, supposedly for my sister's and my birthday, but she was just looking for an excuse to invite all her friends over. Personally, I never even thought of having a party for my birthday, because it always ends in disaster. It's tradition. Ever since my 7th birthday, when my sister's birth prevented my first ever Chuck E. Cheese's party, every birthday party has been bad in some shape or form. You'd think I would have learned by now to never ever celebrate my birthday. However, my mom really, really wanted this, so I didn't disagree.

At this point in time, I can hear everyone's voice through the floor. My house's walls and ceilings tend to make voices resonate so the words are blurred but still audible. I feel kind of ungrateful, because everyone brought gifts, but this isn't what I want. Right now, I can't imagine anything better than driving to Dwight's house and snuggling with him on the couch. Well... actually, driving to Kohl's to spend my new giftcards sounds like a snazzy idea.

It's a countdown until Jawhara gets off work and comes to my rescue.

previous & next