--daddy's little girl--
11:12 pm & Jun. 05, 2004

What a miserable last two days. Ronald Reagan is dead, as I'm sure everyone has heard. It's weird though... Dwight and I were just discussing about ex-Presidents and we realized we didn't know much about Reagan other than him being an actor and having a lot of assassination attempts on his life.

In more serious news... my father got into a motorcycle accident yesterday. You can't possibly understand how badly this shook my world. My father drives like a robot programmed with driving rules straight into his head. The only accident he ever had before was this lady smashing into his car stopped at a stop sign. Her excuse? "Oh, I didn't see him until I hit him." Real smart, lady.

Well, this accident was a lot more serious... as motorcycles tend to be a bit riskier. However, my father always wears his helmet and always follows rules, his wounds are limited [but still serious enough that right now he is drugged up on morphine]. I must state that it was not his fault. At the intersection at the Harvey Taylor Bridge, there is a sign that says "NO TURNS" and this lady tried to make a left turn. My dad happened to be in the same lane and there was a collision. The lady was also driving an immense SUV. My dad is so lucky to be alive and I'm incredibly thankful.

I must sound as if I am heartless as I'm not hysterically weeping. But that's because I've had 24 hours to deal with the news. Last night I was a mess. But today I saw him in the hospital and I didn't enjoy being there. The man in the bed, who barely could even breathe on his own and can't eat any solid foods, was not my father. But he is still alive. He is being given the best care and has family looking out for him. I have much to be thankful for.

I feel selfish that my mother is still allowing me to go on the Cedar Point trip with friends. Usually, my mother is incredibly overprotective and something like this would normally set her off. I guess she really trusts me. Wow.

previous & next