--don't prey on me--
8:15 pm & Jul. 10, 2003

Wow... talk about ironic. I was on AIM last night and, as I scanned through everyone's profile, I discovered a pattern. "My heart belongs to [insert name here]." I wasn't sure whether to vomit everything I had eaten that day ((and include my green intestinal fluids)), or to wonder "What happened to me?"

But then I got to thinking, "Is that it? Will that be the end of the story?" Last year, I had taken this wonderful writing class which was instructed by Mrs. Bush. She told me she did not define herself by her husband ((whom she loves very much)) and that life does not end with love. But it feels like it will end! You go to school, get a job, marry, children, house, dogs... Is that it?! I thank the gods each morning that I am not in love, that I have myself defined by myself, that I am 17 and still young enough to change the pattern. I will not be a lawyer, or actor, or singer, or politician. I will find my personal anarchy and change the pattern which my predecessors have not been able to.

My heart belongs to ME.

previous & next