--so I'll raise my glass to us--
5:50 p.m. & 2002-12-31

Thoughts of last New Year's Eve have crowded my head all day. I remember a lot from last year and can give the most absurd details of things I did. Dwelling on memories of last year should be my big, neon-green, flashing sign: "Warning! You're slipping! Stop!"

As for this year, I'm going over to Feher's house ((again)) and then we're going down to Strawberry Square to see the strawberry drop with friends and his family. Along with those festivities, I've been tweeking my diary out of boredom.

I've been talking to my friend, Josh S., a lot lately and he's such a wretched character. It's such a shame because he's so intelligent and lonely. I've been friends with him since 7th grade and used have the biggest crush on him ((that lasted about a month)). I told him that he should meet us in the square because his other plans were just hanging around the house and watching his older brothers get drunk. He's the straight-edge type and he tends to disagree with his brothers... a lot.

I do, indeed, have a New Year's Resolution ((unlike last year)). I had actually started this resolution about two weeks before Thanksgiving in inspiration of talking to my friend Dane H. Underneath his cynical exterior, he is the kindest person to everyone he meets ((unless the person is a mean person)). Okay, okay, I'm getting to my point... I'm resolved to try to make people happy. I'm going to try and be randomly kind to people I don't know and some people that I do.

True story: Last June, Jawhara and I were walking around downtown to kill time before a Rockapella concert. At the entrance of an alley, we passed a hunched woman who stood completely still. Immediately, we noticed she held a cane and wore sunglasses. She was blind. We asked if she needed help. She wanted to know how far away the Harrisburg Hilton was located. It was a few blocks away, so Jawhara and I offered our services. We led her safely to the hotel and wished her good luck. No reward, but it felt so wonderful helping her. The Rockapella concert was overshadowed by the smile the lady had given us.

I want to see more smiles like that.

previous & next