--hurry up, tell me, this is all a dream--
9:11 p.m. & 2003-01-02

When I was small, perhaps in 3rd or 4th grade, I would read any and every type of book. My favorites were about the Crusades and WWII. Every character seemed so courageous managing to survive in such wretched times. I always thought I lived in a superficially secure world. There were serious problems, but no one wanted to admit it; therefore, the problems would only thrive in the desired ignorance. I was almost right.

For instance, this morning as I was getting dressed for school, I was listening to the radio ((you know that station that only tells the most depressing of news and most boring of talk shows)). It told the devastating poverty in the countries of Africa and how people lived on as few as 25 cents a day. As the day continued, I was in my CompApps class and reading random news off the internet. I read an article on the desolation during Christmas in Bethlehem. The city of such religious significance was empty. Poor trade, unaccounted deaths, destroyed lives... grrr.... [if you're interested in reading an article about Bethlehem, click here]

Listening to: the Cranberries - "Zombie"

Oh what a world...

previous & next