--you can't step in the same river twice--
2:43 pm & Aug. 05, 2006

Just got back from West Virginia with Travis. Surprisingly, we didn't kill each other although it seems we shouldn't ever ride in a car together for too long because the only time we bickered was in the car.

The New River Gorge? BEAUTIFUL!! I couldn't get over how incredibly beautiful the landscape was. It was the stuff that you see in posters and tell yourself that you'd have to travel so far to find and you'll never get a chance to actually experience it.

We did some bouldering, a lot of swimming, cliff diving, hiking, goofing off. It was actually a really laid back trip since neither of us had a particular goal in mind. We went to this place called The Cafe which was actually an old church made into a small restaurant. It was really neat especially since they had a small gift shop that had a ton of beautiful, handmade jewelry. It took the serious miser in me to not buy something.

I'm so happy to have gone on this trip. I needed to just go somewhere and get out of Harrisburg. I've missed traveling so much and it was really fun considering I haven't camped since I was 12 or something like that.

I hope to head back there sometime in the near future. Hopefully next summer if not sooner than that. (They actually drain the New River and make it a HUGE bouldering ground for the winter time)

previous & next