--friend is a four-lettered word--
11:31 pm & Oct. 03, 2003

The Homecoming game was pretty exciting; we went into overtime for the first time since... before I was a freshman? We lost by a point, but, to me, we won because we fought a hard game.

However, there is an issue bothering me beyond belief. It sprouted from a simple situation that some people had put their instruments before the game was done and after the game I addressed this and asked that it not be done again. Cassie decided to take it personally and began to inform me that her instrument hadn't been working. That's okay that her instrument wasn't working, then I wasn't talking about her. She hadn't even been on my mind when I spoke!

Now, that isn't what is bugging me, it's the fact that she stated, "I'm so sick of this organization that I could care less what happens." She continues on about that she's ready quit, etc. etc. etc. Basically being her overly dramatic self. This is where it begins to disgust me. She's not happy marching band because she's not getting her way and intends to bitch and moan about it like she's the only person that matters. I'm sorry, but she's not the only person in the band and if others are enjoying it, she has absolutely no right to make them miserable. And I know there are people who are having fun because it is their first time around [the rookies] or some just manage to have fun, in spite of the changes. Those people deserve my dedication to do my best as a drum major and to learn from my mistakes, whether or not I'm enjoying marching band as much I used to.

This brings me to another subject of which I've been trying my hardest to ignore - her lack of support. She has had supportingleading roles in the past years of high school and I have always been supportive of her. Just because I did something small as make-up or lights, never once have I criticized the entire playmusical just because I wasn't happy with where I was. For the ONE time that I'm in a position where I'm the one "in the limelight" ((which is not even entirely true, considering I share it not only with Holly, but the other section leaders)) -- she wants to be a bitch about it. That kind of selfishness disgusts me and I honestly just want to forget she even exists; but I don't. I choke it down and try to get over it, knowing marching band is a passing thing and in a month from now, I won't even have to worry about any of this because it'll have ended.

To me, coming from you...

previous & next