--what he's waiting for, I don't know--
2:14 pm & Jul. 13, 2003

I've been going through my 1980's music splurge lately. My father had recorded MTV countdowns way back before I was born. Hence the collection of 80's music videos that I watch while the summer flies by. I leave for leadership camp in about a week. That marks the halfway mark of summer for me. I can never decide if I actually like summer or not. Summer is just one of the times of the year that I either love it or hate it. I'm not a hot-weather person; but, like any teenager, I like my time off of scholastic activites.

After the leadership camp, I have marching band camp, then I leave for Florida for two weeks ((unless I can convince my parents that I shouldn't go)). My father is trying as hard as possible to persuade me to go to college down in Florida. He is just looking for a good excuse to live down there. He doesn't seem to realize that I didn't inherit the longing-for-hot-weather gene. I have the four-seasons-a-year gene. I need to see leaves change color, snow pile up in front of the driveway, endless weeks of rain, and the short summers. I think I would lose all sense of ambition and industry if I lived in a constant summer vacation. Besides, I have this irrational fear of getting skin cancer that no amount of sunblock can ease.

Enough babbling. Giving the dog a walk.

previous & next