--not like I faint every time we touch--
10:32 pm & Aug. 23, 2003

Hmm... why does this seem to be a reoccurring theme? I'm talking about my virginity. WHY is it such a big deal?? I was told today that possible reasons why I may not hook up with my Football Player is because "he's honorable and you're a virgin and he doesn't want to screw up with that." >_<

I don't even know if that's petty or sweet or what. That completely blows my mind. I was expecting something a little more typical like "Oh, he likes this little blonde cheerleader." Not something like "you're a virgin." This bugs the hell out of me because being a virgin is my decision and with the list of losers I've dated, it's a pretty fucking smart decision. WHY is being a (non)virgin such a big deal? If I choose to be celibate, so what? If I choose to lose my virginity, so what? So what?! Why does it have to be something like my virginity that ruins my chance for (once) a possibly decent relationship.

Of course, I guess I should take that I heard this from someone else and not my Football Player into consideration. This whole entry may not even be the case and I could totally be over-analyzing what was said. I guess I'm more upset at the fact that it was said. The idea that one the few things I actually have control over in my life is something that is hurting my potential romantic life -- that bugs me so much.

Suddenly, I'm 7 and not 17 years old.

previous & next