--night is falling, you've come to journey's end--
9:07 pm & Feb. 16, 2004

Today was official Senior Skip Day and Jon, Nick, Steve, and I went to visit the good ole capital, Washington DC. We visited a few museums, a few memorials, and a few sightseeing spots. In the frigid weather and lack of a decent amount of money, I still managed to have enjoyed myself immensely. I lacked the money I had wanted to originally bring because I, being the dumbass I am, had left my wallet in Dwight's locker over the weekend. ;

One of the best moments of today was visiting the Vietnam Memorial. Never have I felt the weight of loss of life so great until that moment. I could see a woman, a little older than my own mother, crying and dabbing her tear-stained cheeks with a tissue. As we passed the beginning of the names, I choked up and swallowed my own tears. When we left, we were silent with the heaviness of the consequence of war. I appreciated visiting very much.

Other than that, we had fun traveling the Metro and eating at a tacky, tacky Chinse restaurant in Chinatown (I distinctly remember hearing Ricky Martin's "Living La Vida Loca" over the radio). I can't rightly say we had an one greatly humorous moment or discussion, but I enjoyed myself immensely.

Ahh, the familiarity of my bed...

previous & next