--meet your storm--
10:36 pm & Mar. 29, 2005

I'm feeling poetic... time for some poetry!

I.
This is a letter of "I'll return."
It's a contract
written with a witness of your heart,
binding in the same sense of a wedding night.
It's an oath
that foreign museums and opera halls will not mezmorize me to forgetfulness.

II.
You watch me step into a metal mouth to sit in a metal belly with wings.
An ocean threatens to swallow me completely,
and you shudder.

III.
Maps and mountains call from shores that I have never walked,
yet I know they exist.
I dream of date lines that I have not crossed
and feel the knot of uneasiness at the prospect of remaining within political boundary lines.
But when I have traveled away my youth - when every sea tastes like the same salty mist -
I will send a letter to you.


I think this is a fairly obvious poem if you have talked to me within the last month of my life. But I'm fairly proud of it. It has been a long time since I have written any sort of poetry... or creative writing!!

By the way, if you wonder about my inspiration ((and I doubt you do, but I love telling fun facts)), I was writing this poem in my head as I drove to HACC today. Vienna Teng's "Harbor" was playing and I couldn't stop thinking about traveling to Germany...

I thought this was a rather fun entry...

previous & next