--it's a backwards attraction to your forward eyes--
4:06 pm & Aug. 19, 2005

Today is a rough day. Katie's dog, Morty, has been put to sleep. Katie has the biggest heart in the world and putting Morty (he's 17 years old) to sleep has been putting her in a funk... which puts me in a funk. It's been that kind of week(s).

Last night I got a invitation to attend another one of Harvey's parties, but I wasn't really interested. I mean, it would have been nice to go out and meet people, but I'll have plenty of that stuff a week from now. I really just want to get to Germany and get over all this pre-departure anxiety.

It's the whole process that's getting to me. The arriving at the airport in plenty of time, checking bags, going through security, making sure paperwork is in order, getting on the plane... and that's just the start of it! What is going to happen to me when I arrive in Germany with my very much novice German? Am I going to arrive on time? What's my host family going to be like (they have sent only a name and address)? How badly am I going to miss my friends over here? Am I ever going to adjust being somewhere I can barely speak the language?

Okay... so I think I'm a bit more worried about Germany than I have previously let on. There's more, less life-threatening stuff turning around in my head and it feels like a gigantic balloon is swelling and ready to pop. I have this terrible paranoia that the plane ride over to Germany will be the needle that pops it.

:: sighs ::

Oh... good note. There is a potential date with Kerry either Monday or Tuesday. I seriously almost forgot about that. I am hoping we'll make a trip to his parents' vineyard... I doubt it, but I can hope!!

previous & next