--chai tea is delectable--
3:06 pm & Oct. 25, 2005

One thing I love about my diaryland is that I can see who reads my diary and it tends to people I have been friends with for a few years. That makes me smile. People who I am still interested in being friends with are still reading this and seeing where I fare in life. How nice.

Last night was Muzik Nacht where there were concerts being hosted all around the city and it lasted until midnight. I went out with Amy and we tried to hit as many different kinds of music we could. We started classy at the Philharmonie, then a modern jazz concert, then a 'ska' band at the Blue Shell (it was more emo than ska... I wonder who they were basing their music off of), then an African drum show, and our finale was at the St. Ursala church with Bach organ music. I am sad that we could only fit in 5 places where there were 30 sites of different music. I heart K�ln.

Elsewhere in life, I have a Poli Sci midterm tomorrow and I am going to burn it. Our PSC class is definitely my favorite class, as I feel that I learn the most in it. Art History is pretty exciting as well, but we have had a total of 3 classes in the 7 weeks we have been here (he was sick and then we have 2 weeks holiday).

Yesterday, Amy and I went to a Starbucks and I had my first chai tea in a long, long time. It was worth every cent. If there is anything I miss right now, it is my chai tea and my ability to have it at any time I want. When I return home, I will have to trade in my access to bars for coffee shops, but I can manage that. Coffee shops here are mixtures between coffee and ice cream and aren't as cozy as the ones back at home. Classier, but not as cozy (with couches and magazines and chess boards).

I had an interesting conversation with my favorite internet cafe Egyptian yesterday. I told him I could live in Berlin, no problem and then he asked if I would marry a German man. No. I absolutely could not. I want an American boy. German boys are prissy about their appearances. My favorite Egyptian laughed and said there was a saying for that: 'Weich Ei' or 'soft/smooth egg.' I think that is fairly accurate. But more than that, I have no intention of ever giving up my American citizenship. Yes, K�ln is a beautiful city and Berlin would be a great place to live temporarily... but in the long run, I still want to have my home base in America (Oregon, specifically).

previous & next