--rip out the wings of a butterfly--
2:06 pm & Sept. 17, 2005

Oh the drama! Yes, I am in a foreign country with people I have met less than a month ago and I am watching a soap opera unfold. The nice part is that I can watch from the sidelines. The bad part is that it can totally kill an evening which was meant to be spent dancing and drinking. Ahh, well. Not every Friday can be spectacularly fun.

I think I reached a plateau in my German speaking. I definitely am a lot better at listening and comprehending, but the speaking has been not happening at all.

Well, that is a bit of a lie. A few days ago, I was waiting for my Art class at Heumarkt and I was early. So I grabbed a doner (which, by the way, are the best beer food ever) and sat down on a bench next to a little, old man. I managed to have a decent conversation with him in German and I was very excited about this at the time. I even took a picture of the guy.

Unfortunately, since then I tend to start in German but then they talk in English and I give up.

Oh well.

previous & next