--but we shared a moment that will last till the end--
8:22 am & Nov. 28, 2005

And so real life starts once again. I freaking hate my history class. We spend 20 minutes just talking about what we're gonna do and then talk about WWII. This is supposed to be a 'German Modern History' course... not a class based entirely around events that happened in a 5 year span. The Holocaust, yes, very important -- I'm not arguing that. However I have three more History classes and not ONCE have we mentioned the DDR. Thank God there are only three more classes...

Today was a rather giggly day for me, Katrina, and Amy. We talked about our adventures with our British boys and it seemed like everything referred back to them. No word from Oli yet. If he doesn't email me in a few days, I can only assume he'll never email me and I will be heartbroken.

Amy and I were discussing why we connected so well with the British boys. I say it's because the British have their own, well-preserved culture and isn't interested in being assimilated into today's pop culture (at least, to a certain extent). I say this because the radio, tv, product advertisements, etc. are bursting with American shit in Germany. Plus, the boys were very candid about themselves and there was nothing that could not be talked about. It also helps that they speak English (although there were a lot interesting slang words like 'ponce' which apparantly means something along the lines of a 'metrosexual' - a word I have always loathed).

In all this excitement and stress, it hasn't really occurred to me how close Berlin is. Next Friday I will be on a train at 5 in the morning. Sweetness. Berlin right now signifies a time when all my heavy work is completed. It won't come soon enough.

previous & next